One type of high IQ is associated with creative insight – seeing patterns that are not obvious. Not puzzle solving skill, but riddle solving skill. This particular type of higher IQ is apparently rather rare.

I’ll go out on an imaginary limb (because the risk is also imaginary) and hypothesize that this type of high IQ is associated with high testosterone.

There are also many high IQ people who have noted that they are extra randy. I’d love to know if they skew to a type of G.

Creativity and testosterone – I’m fairly confident we’ll find a positive correlation.

The money quote from  http://www.prometheussociety.org/articles/multiple.html :

As things stand now, only fluid intelligence and crystallized intelligence are definitely known to exist. I joined the high IQ societies looking for people with strong insight abilities. Instead, I found an army of logical analysts who wanted to nitpick everything to death. I really shouldn’t have been surprised at this, as this was the very quality they were originally selected for. Nevertheless, I not only felt disappointed with the high IQ societies, I also felt I didn’t belong in them despite my IQ. The fact is, I don’t enjoy arguments of any kind, and logical puzzles bore me. What I do enjoy, more than I can say, are insight puzzles like this one:

A hunter went hunting for bear. He walked five miles east of camp, but couldn’t find any game. So he walked five miles north, where he saw a bear and shot it. Then he walked five miles directly back to camp. What color was the bear?

It is precisely items of this kind that Sternberg is using to construct his test of experiential (insight) intelligence. I don’t know if his test will turn out to be a measure of a genuinely new kind of intelligence, or whether it will turn out to be a special factor like verbal fluency, and frankly I don’t care. What I know for certain is that whichever way it turns out, it’s of immense personal importance to me. You see, it’s the source of almost all of the essays I write for the high IQ societies.

I’m also most interested in this type of talent. You’ll recognize when you see it. It’s a systematizing mind that creates creative associations routinely. The Dr. House aha moment, over and over.

Let me talk about that puzzle and what I find interesting in it. First, my thought process. Scan it over. The question doesn’t make sense. Reread and discover a clue – he travels to the right one unit, turns 90 degrees and travels up one unit, and then travels the SAME unit of direction back to the starting point. Ok, anyone familiar with right angled trianges knows that’s not possible. So in my mind I try to stretch out the line on the way back to the origin, without stretching it,

and BoinG! That’s the moment of insight. Is that memory? No, it’s not memory. It’s association. How many associations must my mind have scanned through, in the 1 second it took to come up with euclidean geometry?

Edward de Bono like the term lateral thinking. I like to think of massively parralel multiprocessing, happening on subconscious levels. Only the ego needs linearity, you know. Without ego, you can run massively parallel processing – but that’s why we are unconscious of those processes, because our awareness is usually trapped in a sense of self. Some people relive their lives in a flash of one second, right before nearly dying. But that’s not correct – the brain makes time appear, in order to make sense of all the information. In reality it was a massively parralel experience, that the brain fit together as if it was linear. Some meditators experience awareness of vast, vast visualizations. This is possible only when the sense of self diminishes. Ok, so creativity and insight is associated with massively parallel processing, which also can be cultivated with mindfulness training and is often accompanied by an experience of oneness or ego dissolution.

It’s that moment of insight that is the most fun. Aha!

Ok, then the next aha. If it’s a triangle mapped out on a globe, where must it be? A pole. There is only one pole with a bear on it. That bear is white. All that was fairly linear, and therefore mostly conscious. Took maybe one more second.

States of semi-sleep are also fun to explore, as they erase the normal boundaries of awareness, and let you play with the incredible facility of the visualization system. We dream! How incredible. In a lucid dream, the dreamer and the dream are both dreamt. So who is dreaming? The ego itself, the dream body, as well as the hallway you are walking down, are all dreamed. Obviously therefore not by the ego! Times like that you can slip into the massively parallel processing with more awareness.

Usually it’s just instant and fleeting and subconscious.

