ct-322.jpgBefore moving to Asia and learning to chill a bit, I spent over a decade doing various things to make money, in order to do something else. Most of that time seems wasted to me now. Below is a quote from an interview with author Steven Williams from expat Tony Bedford’s blog.

You said you’d recently read Po Bronson’s ‘What should I do with my life?’. What was it that drew you to reading that book and in what way did it change your life?

Reading this book was a true turning point in my life. I found that book at a time when I needed it the most. I was still in LA in job that was damaging me so severely psychologically that I started having all these ghost like medical problems like pain in my jaw, etc. Even though the money was good, the 9-5 thing goes flatly against my wiring. Sooner or later, we all have to face who we really are and what our real desires are, for better or worse. I found the book at a small shop while wandering around on Sunset BLVD near my apartment. There are many myths about what we are “going to do” when we get more money, or get a promotion, or magically have more time or space or freedom. This book shatters those myths and proves that it does us no good whatsoever to get on roads that we think will lead to other roads. I have thought so much about this I have come up with a simple equation that sums up that book:

X leads to x.

X does not lead to y.

This book spurred me to take the steps necessary to put the wheels in motion on things that I truly care about. I realized that the myth of making money first and then doing what you want is just that, a myth. The belief in this myth was one of the major hurdles that I had to clear in my life. I call it the ultimate time waster.

