Random Xpat Rantings

Contemplative dominance for the modern man

Addiction and motivation

Posted by xsplat on June 8, 2013

Pot gets me out of my head and into music, chi-kung, sex, and relaxing my attention into the moment.

But it lowers my motivation in other areas and my ability to focus on intellectual tasks.

The theobromine in cocoa powder gets me speedy and excited and gregarious and creative. I’ll come up with worlds of ideas and get off on expressing them.

I’ve been finding that life satisfaction goes up when I’m challenged in many areas at the same time. Not just one part of the brain – but many different and disparate circuits – such as sexual challenges (keeping more than one young woman at a time sexually satisfied and exhausted), business challenges, manly buddy socializing, musical learning, fitness challenges, chi-kung engagements, blog writing, and on and on. This full self engagement raises my interest in being alive, and raises my overall satisfaction, such that my baseline happiness is raised. The happiness can be so intense as to be bitter sweet – a happiness in my heart that almost hurts.

And yet there are still issues with managing motivation and addiction. Because motivation occurs in discreet areas. I can be motivated to smoke pot and get into fucking for days and weeks on end, thus neglecting business. And the desire for that can be an addiction that sucks from other areas that need attention and development.

So there is a need to develop technologies to manage motivation and addiction. Apparently motivation and satisfaction generally increases along with broad life engagement. And I’d think addictions are easier to manage also when satisfactions are received broadly. Fine tuning and will power will require mental technologies.

6 Responses to “Addiction and motivation”

  1. E.J. said

    I’m having the same dilemma with weed and business. I love being high, listening to music high, fucking high, eating high, basically everything I enjoy doing is better with weed. And yet, getting high distracts from my business goals, which is problematic as I’m self-employed. My time is money, literally.

    “So there is a need to develop technologies to manage motivation and addiction.”

    I’ve been trying to find the perfect phone or desktop app that can help me organize my time and vices a bit better. No luck.

    So far I’ve been getting as much work done possible in the morning, 100% sober, and I enjoy the rest of the day in my preferred state. I could probably double my productivity if I never did drugs, but then, I wouldn’t be high. I can’t blame the drugs or anyone else. I’m aware of what I’m doing, I’m aware of the true cost of drugs, and I’m apparently okay with the trade-off.

  2. UCB said

    So xsplat, have you ever experimented with Modafinil? A lot of manosphere types are praising it as the next super-drug. Ultra-high productivity for an extended period of time, without most of the nasty side effects of other types of stimulants (caffeine in particular). The only real negative is that you’ll eventually crash and have a couple days of lower brain functioning, but then that effect usually subsides within 24 hours. Of course, long-term side effects are unknown at this point.

    I can’t really mess around with this stuff due to my employment situation, but I can easily see the value in cycling Modafinil for a couple days, knocking out a ton of work, then switching to recreational drugs to ride out the bottom half of the wave.

  3. Some guy said

    Consider cycling your chemicals.

    Consider Sartre’s daily diet of uppers, downers, and other various chemicals (via http://www.bakadesuyo.com/2013/05/genius-work-habits/):

    “His diet over a period of twenty-four hours included two packs of cigarettes and several pipes stuffed with black tobacco, more than a quart of alcohol— wine, beer, vodka, whisky, and so on— two hundred milligrams of amphetamines, fifteen grams of aspirin, several grams of barbiturates, plus coffee, tea, rich meals.”

  4. Fearless said

    If any of you are really interested on causes, effects, and correlations between addiction and motivation read In The Realm Of Hungry Ghosts by Dr. Gabor Mate. Read it last year and it helped me deal with my addictions (behavioral and substance related) and the addictions of others close to me. Easy, interesting read for lay people.

  5. Ruxman said

    I’m a textbook case study for weed, just made me demotivated and light headed. Even the next day I am completely apathetic which was a scary feeling. After awhile I went so long without smoking because I always had stuff to do the next day that it became easy to say no to it when offered,

  6. Renfrew said

    Neurochemistry is such an individual thing. And a complex one, influenced as it is by diet, exercise, sleep, blood sugar, mood, etc (Leary’s “set and setting,” write large). Finding your own drugs, and your own drug routines (as opposed to really-can’t-live-without-this-stuff addictions), is definitely the way to achieve, as the old corporate slogan used to say, better living through chemistry.

    Benjamin Franklin: “Beer is proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy.” Incidentally, I happen to like the taste of beer very much, but alcohol tends to be unproductive for me, making me dull and sleepy. Nevertheless, Franklin’s sentiment stands as the only retort necessary to a proselytising teetotaller or anti-drug busybody.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

