Random Xpat Rantings

Contemplative dominance for the modern man

New age egocentric/egalitarian anti-world view infects even the red pill manosphere

Posted by xsplat on June 1, 2013

xsplat Wrote: I’m of the school of thought that it’s much easier to work on the external life structure than the internal method acting.

Giovonny Wrote: I think we must work on BOTH, at the same time.

I agree, but strangely it came to me as an insight that we need to work on the exterior world in order to be happy.

I mean, that should be obvious right?

But years of cultural and Buddhist and New Age conditioning had me believing that everything was in my head.

The manosphere is also heavily influenced by this New Age crap.

It IS strange that it should be an insight that working on our external world actually has the strongest power to most strongly affect our happiness, day to day and over the long term.

Everybody used to always know that.

I think a substrate of this new-age hyper-inflated-ego view that our ego is at the center of causality is the foundational belief in “equality”.

Uggh. Equality.

We’re all of the same class. We’re all of uniquely good if different abilities. We can all choose happiness based on what’s on the inside, based on our reactions to the world.

What a load of equalist crap. People in relatively higher social positions are relatively happier. Therefore… chink, clunk, gears turning… calculation… !!! Work on the external reality and get status and become happier!

For those who doubt, just compare your most unhappy times, and your happiest, and look to what the architecture of your life was like. What external circumstances supported your happiness, or were a barrier to it?

I’ve spent time in jail, so I know that time for sublime contemplation does not bring happiness. And I’ve gotten laid in jail, and was happy.

External things are closely tied in to happiness. Fresh young attractive faces attached to willing pussy, wealth, social status, a great place to stay, good food, and on and on.

New age egocentric introversion is not spiritual. It’s reality avoidance.

12 Responses to “New age egocentric/egalitarian anti-world view infects even the red pill manosphere”

  1. Markus said

    I agree with you, Xplat.
    I want to make a very banal example. I live in a noisy neighborhood. I’m a guy who likes silence. Right now I cannot move for various reasons.

    Now, the “internal” approach would be to change my reaction to the noise. It would involve meditation, internal re-shaping of my anchors/reactions, deep questions such as ‘why is this even bothering me?’ and all that. Days, if not weeks, and probably failure. It annoys me, and that’s that.

    The “external” approach is to buy a $3 pair of earbuds and mask all the bedlam with soothing, calming white noise. Problem solved in not even one day.

    Being able to manipulate your environment directly to maximize happiness is worth all the “inner game” in the world.

    This should really go without saying. I’m gobsmacked every single time I hear or read people say that it’s “only what’s inside that counts.”

    It certainly matters, but it’s a piece of the puzzle. The inside counts only if you externalize it. Staying in lotus position all day and fasting on rice soup and thinking happy thoughts and smile internally and all that might offer you an oasis of peace, but the external world outside that oasis will still be there. If you don’t use your positive feeling to influence your *physical* environment, you’re just going in circles.

    Once upon a time I used to meditate for meditation’s sake. Working on my inner game, one would say today. Relax your body. Smile internally. Send positive waves of emotions. See a “more positive you.” “A stronger you.” It felt great and peaceful, but when I woke up my reality was still there, ready to hit me with a 2×4 so fast, that feeling of peace subsided pretty quick.

    This changed when my meditation became creative, not just a masturbation of the soul. I visualized a “stronger me” that hit the gym. I visualized a “more positive you” that hit the books. I visualized a more “loved me” by learning the art of making friends and offering value. I visualized a “sexier me” by visualizing ways to get a new wardrobe. I invented a system of mnemonic symbols so that I could literally take notes while meditating so I wouldn’t have to reach for pen and paper while under. I bridged the internal with the external. And so on.

  2. Renfrew said

    That’s a rejoinder eminently worth making. The New Age “it’s all inside you” premise undoubtedly deserves a critical review. However I think it needs to be qualified.

    I recall a study/survey done in Europe awhile ago that suggested that up to an annual income of about €50,000 ($75,000 at the time), marginal increases in income correlated with marginal increases in happiness (e.g., more money DID make you happier). But beyond $75,000/year, the link broke down: more money did not make you happier. This suggests that when most people have their basic material needs met, the achievement of happiness is down to them, down to “what they do next” shall we say.

    Now, hold that thought one second and recall Woody Allen’s quip: “Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons.” What makes this line great is its implicit grasp of the fact that with financial wherewithal (a more useful term than “money” here), a man can prod and poke the outside world to give him things he wants. And if his wants are good ones (another discussion) then fulfilling them will bring him more happiness.

    (Quick aside: I happen to think that a lot of people want things that aren’t want wanting and that will NOT bring them satisfaction if achieved; and “science” backs up the notion that human are terrible at predicting which things in life will make them happy; Xsplat’s post from a few days showed how he himself has gone about making an educated guess regarding what has made, and what will make, him happy.)

    Happiness-inducing material success functions three ways, it seems to me: 1) your basic material wants are handled and you can get on with using financial wherewithal to serve your “higher” happiness aims (e.g., pussy, adventure, love, etc.); 2) the direct internal experience of having acquired financial wherewithal, and knowing that you are wielding it well on an ongoing basis, redounds to your self-esteem, self-confidence, and sense of well-being/happiness (all of those things are unlimited goods, so if your values, your “internals,” are solid then the more money you have the more of those things you’ll have); and 3) nice things are nicer, by definition, and indeed some — not all — of life’s most exquisite pleasures are relatively dear; the more of them you can afford, the more pleasant life’ll be for you.

    I guess that’s a long way of saying, yeah, externals definitely are HUGE in bringing you happiness, but their ability to do so is strongly linked to your internals. What got lost in Western/American cultural is the second half of that (metaphor/exaggeration: people used to want to get rich and famous by DOING something to get rich and/or famous, and when they did that they’d be happy, because they’d done something really worthwhile and reaped the reward; now they just want to be rich and/or famous, and they end up not quite as happy as they hoped); it’s a classic confusion of cause and effect.

    Bonus paragraph on the New Age tendency to discount the material world’s contribution to happiness: Ken Wilber, a knowledgable Buddhist sympathiser and heavy-duty meditator (but NOT a self-declared Buddhist), was once doing an interview with a Buddhist magazine. The interviewer, a devout Buddhist, offended by Wilber’s reluctance to fully accept Buddhism as the be-all and end-all, huffily asked: “So, Ken…what do you know that Buddha didn’t?” To which Wilber, without missing a beat, retorted; “Um, how to drive a car!”

    • xsplat said

      Another great reply. And your previous comments will inspire my full attention soon.

      • Renfrew said

        Thanks, great, awesome. And like Markus, I appreciate the chance to pipe up. I hope it’s positive feedback for you, Xsplat, and useful to the occasional passerby.

  3. yousowould said

    I believe both to be important, although to favour one to the exclusion of the other is foolish. Like anything else in life, a balance must be struck.

    For many years, I had the trappings of an externally successful man. I had an income in the top 1% of the country, I was physically in shape, very successful with women by the standard of the majority of the rest of my peers – and yet I wasn’t happy. I was constantly riling against my true nature, trying to force away feelings of anxiety and inadequacy. It was only once I had began to study the tenets of detached mindfulness and presence, that I truly accepted myself for who I was, and I finally achieved the rock solid core confidence and happiness with myself that I now possess.

    And of course, it is very difficult to find lasting happiness with just internal validation. It takes a man with a much stronger will than I to forcibly and successfully disassociate himself from the cravings of the flesh. I don’t doubt for a second that these people are extremely tranquil and at peace with themselves, but to me that’s like living a life in black and white instead of colour. The pleasures of the flesh, and the trappings of success are, well, pleasurable. We’ve been genetically hardwired to find them so, and to deny our true evolutionary nature is folly.

    If I could give any advice however to a man starting out on his journey towards full internal and external validation and success, it would be to start with the internals. Everything else will fall into place so much more quickly and easily if you, and the journey will be more enjoyable.

  4. xsplat said

    A reply I also posted on the discussion forum:

    Yes, both are important, and I agree it’s also good to sometimes focus very carefully on internal development.

    Pitt, I read somewhere that status relative to your peers has a bearing on relative happiness. There have been scientific studies about that. I don’t have any links – maybe someone else does, as that info has been around for a while.

    So even in the DR it’s likely that those with a bit more money than those around them will tend to be a bit more satisfied with life. It’s a limited but real effect. Not the only part of the picture, but one part, and a real one, and a useful one.

    On top of that of course are all the logistical benefits, and the ways a creative and insightful person could leverage money towards lifestyle and happiness benefits. That of course is not an automatic given – it’s difficult to predict the things that bring long term happiness, and easy to mis-judge how to spend money for increased happiness. It can be done, but that takes careful creative thought.

    For instance one way I’ve used money is to set up a second girl in a nearby 2nd apartment. I felt a lot better.

    I’ve also upgraded my wardrobe and used both the increased confidence of having two girls that love me and looking my best to help with being at my most attractive for when I meet girls. These external situations can help create further external situations that can increase happiness. I am happier when I date girls with pretty faces and have lots of sex with a variety of women and with women whom I love and who dote on me.

    It’s true. A bird does need two wings to fly. When describing one wing it’s easy to overlook the other. The external architecture can become foundational for future growth and change.

    Some guys will find it easier to get in state and swoop. But it’s also helpful to build your life to bring about a good state. Some internal magic powers have no external correlate, and vice versa. I can give a hypnotic look that makes a girl weak in the knees, and I can also set up a girl in an apartment and job. Two wings.

    At this point in my life I’ll still work on both wings, but am very interested to focus on the external stuff. Especially after watching all sorts of HBO and netflix series about gathering power in the world. House of Cards has inspired some big plans in me.

    • Renfrew said

      Wow. The thing is, Xsplat, VASTLY more men can afford such an arrangement as you describe than actually do it, implying the barriers to living it — at the key margins — are far more internal than external, more to do with WHO YOU ARE and HOW YOU ARE than with what you’ve got materially. I’m going to guess you’d agree, but I’ll wait to hear more.

      Indeed, I beseech you to share (in due course) some insights on the logistics (and psycho-logistics) of harem creation and maintenance (and dissolution, which presumably comes with the territory)…. I am all ears, too, if you deign to share some explication of your journey to your current, ostensibly sustainable and oft-flourishing, level of attainment on that front; for along the way there MUST have been some experiments gone awry, and some lessons very hard won.

      Anyway, I’ve been spending an increasing amount of time in the Orient — overall, the most exciting part of the world today — and it is clear that there are lifestyles available to men there (some men, let’s be clear) that need to be glimpsed to be believed. Nonetheless, most semi-wealthy men I’ve encountered there seem to settle for a high-quality wife augmented by a parade of unimportant girls on the side. That’s de rigueur, though, and any fool can manage it. But to go the full Stanley Ho….now we’re talkin’.

  5. AAB said

    ‘We’re all of the same class. We’re all of uniquely good if different abilities.’

    I guess that’s another indicator of the feminised times that we are going through: inability to discriminate between two basic distinctly different items. Discrimination seems to be an inherently male trait, and it’s something that the goddess worshipping ‘new age’ could do with a large dose of.

  6. Hero said

    Powerful stuff, comments included.

    Thank you gentlemen.

    Xsplat, you still doing your boxing workouts? You should get a partner and spar. It really does not compare to bag workouts. Even some light sparring will stimulate your masculinity in a big way. Or find a coach that will guide you though work on the punch mitts.

    • xsplat said

      So far just one session of sparring, not including the head, with heavy gloves. Lot of fun. Doesn’t really hurt. We plan to do more of that. Would be interested in coaching, and there are some local resources.

      I’m not going to involve the head though.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

